11 remanded for pipeline vandalism

By The Citizen

Justice Mohammed Yunusa of a Federal High Court Lagos, on Tuesday ordered the remand of  11 accused charged with pipeline vandalism at Ikoyi prison.

The accused are Said Usman, 26, Abraham Nwadike, 42, Raphael Ayomonife, 33, Moruf Owodunni, 22, Joseph Enabulele, 25, Achile Salami, 31, Festus Agani, 30, Kelechi Steven, 27, Israel Ochaladu,34, Jude Pedepede, 32, and Olawumi Abdul-Basit.

They are standing trial on a four-count charge of conspiracy, vandalism, stealing and sale of petroleum products.

They, however, pleaded not guilty to the charge.
Justice Yunusa, however, ordered the accused to be remanded at the Ikoyi prison following an application for their remand by the Prosecutor, Mrs Kelechi Eseluma.

He adjourned the case to July 25 for trial.
The prosecutor had earlier told the court that the accused were apprehended by the police on June 29 at Odigbo Ore, Ogun, with about 11,000 litres of petrol.

She alleged that the accused had tampered with an oil pipeline in the locality and scooped out the products for illegal sale.

Eseluma said that the offence contravened the provisions of sections 3 (6), 1(7), 11(7) and 7 of the miscellaneous offence act Cap M17 Laws of the Federation of Nigeria (2004).

The offence attracts a penalty of not less than three years upon conviction. (NAN)