Soyinka, Maitama, Nwabueze, Ciroma, Clark, Anyaoku Babalola, Others To Lead National Political Summit


Eminent leaders of thought , Statesmen and Top politicians from across the six geo political zones of the country are set to gather together next week Le'Meridian Hotels & Resorts,  Uyo for a crucial political summit on the future of Nigeria convened by Project Nigeria – National Consensus Group

According to a statement and advertorial released in Abuja on Sunday by Malam Naseer Kura, Head of Communications of the summit secretariat, the National Political Summit is being convened to douse the tension created by the emergency situation in the country

Kura said the national family meeting is expected to work out and agree on a popular modality for securing political and constitutional stability for the future of Nigeria in the light of the pervasive insecurity and insurgency in the country

'The emergency national consultative meeting is designed to bring together distinguished Statesmen, Government Functionaries, Political and Religious Leaders of thought from the six geo-political zones of Nigeria to discuss and negotiate an agreed modality for securing the stability and future of Nigeria The historic Political Summit will also kick start a profound process of national consultations and political negotiations towards an enduring solution to the heightening tension in the country' the statement reads

'Some of the Eminent National Leaders of thought expected to lead delegations and spear head discussions at the confab includes; First Republic Minister and Chairman, Northern Elders Forum; Alhaji Yusuf Maitama Sule, Legal Luminary; Prof Ben Nwabueze, SAN, Nobel Laureate; Prof Wole Soyinka (Lead Speaker), General TY Danjuma, Dr Alex Ekwueme, Chief Edwin Clark, Chief Emeka Anyaoku, Chief Ayo Adebanjo, HRM Amayanabo Alfred Diete- Spiff , Dr. Tunji Braithwaite, Chief Solomon Lar,  Alh. Tanko Yakassai, Alhaji Balarabe Musa, Amb. Christopher Kolade,  Alhaji Aliko Mohammed, Chairman ACF, Mallam Adamu Ciroma, Chief Olu Falae, Alabo Graham Douglas, Chief Bisi Akande, General Alani Akinriade, Prof Pat Utomi, Chief Reuben Fashoranti, Afenifere Leader, Chief Audu Ogbeh, Bishop Emmanuel Gbonigi, Sheik Ahmed Lemu, Senator David Dafinone, Alhaji Ishiaku Rabiu, Gen Jeremiah Useni.

Others are; Senator Ken Nnamani, Chief John Nwodo, Pastor Ayo Oritsejafor,  Bishop (Dr) Mathew Kukah, Chief  Chukwuemeka Ezeife, Alhaji Bamanga Tukur, Prof Itse Sagay, Barr Olisa Agbakoba, SAN, Alhaji Gambo Jimeta, Comrade Abduwaheed Omar(NLC President), Comrade Peter Esele (TUC President), Prof Grace Alele Williams, Dr Iyorchia Ayu, Chief Phillip Asiodu, Prof Akin Oyebode, Dr Arthur Nwankwo, Alhaji Umaru Shikanfi, Mr.
Sanusi Lamido Sanusi,  Prince Tony Momoh, Dr. Ogbonna Onuh, Barrister Femi Falana (SAN), Mallam Nuhu Ribadu, Dr Kalu Idika Kalu, Prof. Dora Akunyili, Dr. Ngozi Okonjo- Iwella, Prof Kinse Okoko, Alhaji Bashir Tofa,  Prof. Chidi Odinkalu, Solomon Asemota, SAN, High Chief Raymond Dokepsi,  Dr Federick Fasheun, Dr. Odia Ofeimu, Prof. Attahiru Jega, Dr. Sule Hamma, Dr. Junaid Mohammed,Otunba Gani Adams, Hon (Mrs) Nkoyo Toyo, Hon. Abike Dabiri- Erewa, Mrs. Ayo Obe,Mr John Momoh, Mr Shehu Sanni, Mr. Ben Murray Bruce, Chief Mike Ozekhome,SAN among others'

The summit secretariat also stated that key Religious Leaders and select Traditional Rulers from the six geo political zones have also been discreetly invited to make interventions at the summit.

'Furthermore President Goodluck Jonathan, all former Presidents/Head of States and their deputies and high powered Federal and State Government delegations, including the leadership of the National Assembly, State Governors and Ministers etc are expected to participate actively at the summit.

A detailed programme of the summit will be published on Sunday, 30th June as all invited delegates and selected observers are expected to arrive the venue of the dialogue for accreditation on Monday 1st July 2013' Kura added