Chime inaugurates new ENSUBEB Board -charges them to reposition Primary Education

By The Citizen

Governor Sullivan Chime of Enugu State has inaugurated members to the newly constituted State Universal Basic Education Board (ENSUBEB) with a charge to reposition Primary Education in the state.

The Governor who was represented by the Secretary to the State Government Mr. Patrick Okolo also urged the new board members to eschew of eschew all forms of laxity and corruption in the discharge of their duties warning that any officer found wanting in these regards would be held to account.

The state chief executive reminded members of the Board that they were appointed based on their credentials and capacities to meet the expectations of government in the discharge of their duties adding that the administration has no room for disappointment or failure.

According to Governor Chime, 'There is indeed no room for disappointment or failure as the consequences will be dire for both the current and future generation of our children'. He explained that his administration had continued to review its investment in education to meet its vision to reposition the sector and restore the glory and reputation of primary schools in the state.

The vision he said is anchored on government efforts to ensure that school in the state received sufficient funding to provide basic teaching materials, renovate of existing schools and provide them with standard furniture among other facilities.

Governor Chime also disclosed that steps have been taken to ensure that qualified teachers are recruited while effective monitoring mechanism is maintained to guaranteed that school pupils benefited from these investments.

Responding on behalf of her colleagues, the Chairman of the Board Ms. Nneka Onuorah thanked the state Governor Mr. Chime for appointing them  to serve the state and promised that they would do their best to justify the confidence reposed on them.

Ms. Onuorah described the task before the Board as very challenging but stated that with the support of government and cooperation of stake holders in the education sector in the state they will not disappoint the people.

The Board has four permanent members, Dr. Ikenna Chukwu member I, Mr. Afuluenu Etta Member II, Mrs. Ekwutosi Ngwu Member III, and Dr. Thomas Ayogu Member IV.

Part time members of the Board include Mr. Chuka Eche representing Enugu West Senatorial zone Mrs. Ngozi .S. Egbo representing Enugu East Senatorial Zone and Dr. Francis M. Onu representing Enugu North Senatorial Zone.