TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center


By Wole Soyinka Centre for Investigative Journalism
Listen to article

The 2012 Judges' board of the Wole Soyinka Award for Investigative Reporting (WSAIR) chaired by the Dean, Lagos State School of Communication, Professor Lai Eso, decided on 6 winning works, 6 runners-up and 4 commendations after three weeks of assessment and a one-day scores collation session held on Tuesday 27 November in Lagos.

The winners, runners-up and commended works will be announced at a public award presentation ceremony scheduled for Sunday 9 December 2012 at the Hubert Ogunde Hall of the Cultural Centre in Kuto, Abeokuta, Ogun State, from 2-5pm. The Ogun State Governor, Senator Ibikunle Amosun will be the Chief Host.

The winners are journalists whom the board have adjudged to demonstrate journalistic courage, individual creativity and public benefit in their report on public or corporate corruption, human rights violation, and or, the failure of regulatory agencies.

The WSCIJ-Nigeria Investigative Journalist of the Year 2012, which is the merit prize for the best outstanding work across all the categories, will also be awarded at the event.

The finalists will go home with the prestigious award plaque, cash and kind prizes and certificates of commendation.

Admittance to the event is open to members of the public.