TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center


By NBF News
Listen to article

Akwa Ibom State Governor, Chief Godswill Obot Akpabio, has forwarded a list of commissioner-nominees and special advisers to the House of Assembly for confirmation.

The governor's action, which is in line with Section 192(2) of the 1999 Constitution was conveyed through his letter dated 11th April, and addressed to the Speaker, Sam Ikon. The list was received by the Speaker yesterday.

The commissionership nominees are: Mr. Bassey Albert Akpan, Ekpenyong Ntekim, Dr. Bassey Antai, Mr. Don Etim, Emmanuel Enoidem, Eno Akpan, Enobong Uwah, Mrs. Helen Ikpe Akpabio, Mr. Sunny Anyang, Adasi Ubolum, Mr Aniekan Umana and Comfort Etuk.

Others are Dr. Clement Bassey, Effiong Abia, Austin Mbeh, Mrs. Eunice S Thomas, Mr. Martins Udoinyang and Ita Umoh Udoh.

The special advisers were, Etido Inyang, Chief Sinas Ukpana, Mr. Godwin S. Udom and Samuel G. Frank.

The Speaker who was represented by his Deputy, Udo Kierian Akpan at the plenary gave the letter to the House Committee on Judiciary, Justice, Human Rights and Public Petitions for screening. He urged the committee to submit its report on next week Tuesday.

The governor had two weeks ago sent a list of three persons, Bassey Dan-Abia, Mr Godwin Afangide and Mr. Uwem Ita Etuk to the House for the first two to be confirmed commissioners, while Etuk was to be confirmed special adviser. The trio was to fill the vacancies created by resignations and termination of appointment.

By the new list, it appears the governor has disposed off three commissioners, Jerry Akpan hitherto Commissioner for Economic Development, Dr. Nseabasi Akpan who was the Education Commissioner and Dr. Francis Udoikpong who manned the ministry till the cabinet was dissolved last week. The former Commissioner for Youth and Sports, Pastor Oyong Asuquo, died last Saturday in an auto crash, creating a vacuum, which now make room for a new person in the cabinet.

The four new nominees are, Mrs. Helen Ikpe Akpabio, Mrs. Comfort Etuk, Mr. Martins Udoinyang and Mr. Ita Umoh Udoh.