By NBF News
Listen to article

ADO-EKITI-FIFTEEN years after its creation, the government of Ekiti State have appealed to the federal government for a take-off grant to accelerate development of the state.

Ekiti and five others; Ebonyi, Nassarawa, Bayelsa, Zamfara and Gombe states were created in 1996 by the Gen Sani Abacha government.

At a briefing to mark the celebration of the forthcoming Nigeria's 51st Independence and Ekiti State at 15, Secretary to the State Government, SSG, Dr Ganiyu Owolabi, said 'the demand for the take- off grant falls within the rights of the people of the state.'

Owolabi argued that take-off grants were given to all older states created before 1996, saying ''what is good for the goose is equally good for the gander, after all when the older states were created, they were given take-off grants. It is our right, as it will give room for the accelerated development of the state, therefore the federal government should consider this.'

Owolabi , said the state would honour some notable individuals who played prominent roles during the struggle for the creation of the state.

Some of the highlights of the celebration included a Jumat service on Friday, church service on Sunday and a visit by the Wife of Ekiti State governor, Erelu Bisi Fayemi, to the Children Department at Erelu Adebayo Orpahanage home.