By NBF News
Click for Full Image Size

According to the result declared by the State Returning Officer, Professor Femi Bamiro, Ajimobi polled 420,852 and scored 25 per cent vote cast in 25 Local Governments to defeat Akala and the former governor of the state, Rasheed Ladoja to second and third respectively in the keenly contested election. Akala polled 385,132 with 25 per cent in 22 local governments, while Ladoja polled 275,773 with 25 per cent in 10 local government.

With the result, Akala failed to make history in his bid to become the first governor to rule the state twice since its creation. The breakdown of the results shows that ACN won in Atiba, Afijio, Oyo West, Oyo East, Saki East, Ibarapa East, Ibarapa North, Atiba, Oluyole, Orelope, Saki West, Ibadan North, Ido, Ibarapa Central, Olorunsogo, Ibadan N'Eeast, Itesiwaju, Iseyin, Akinyele, Ibadan N'West and Ibadan S'East local governments.

PDP on the other hand, won Saki East, Ogo-Oluwa ,Ibarapa North, Orire, Itesiwaju, Ogbomosho, Irepo, Ibarapa East, Iwajowa. AP won in Ibadan North East, Ona Ara, Egbeda and Lagelu local governments.

Before the final result was announced, there was a long wait after the result of 32 local governments had been declared. The five-hour waiting between 2.30 pm to 7.00 pm generated tension in Ibadan and its environs as both Ajimobi and Akala supporters engaged in victory dance around the city, claiming victory in the yet to be declared Ibadan South West result.

However. the tight security mounted by both the army and the police effectively secured the office of INEC and dispersed the riotous party supporters from the vicinity.