TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

Imo: PDP Sweep NASS Poll As Izanuso, Ihedioha Return; Udenwa Beaten

Source: THEWILL. -
Listen to article

OWERRI, April 10, (THEWILL) - The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has won almost all the National Assembly seats that were open for contest in the NASS race in the state.

The party at press time had won 2 out of the 3 senate seats allotted to the state and 7 out of the 10 federal House of Representatives seats in play. One house race was (Okigwe North) had been postponed by INEC.

Incumbent Senator, Senator Osita Izunaso (PDP) overwhelmingly defeated former state governor and the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) candidate, Chief Achike Udenwa in the Imo West Senatorial race in the Orlu zone.

In the Imo South race in the Okigwe zone, Ambassador Matthew Nwagwu (PDP) also defeated the former Secretary of the State Government (SSG), Chief Cosmas Iwu (ACN, brother of former INEC chair, Prof. Maurice Iwu).

In the Imo West Senatorial race, Incumbent Senator, Chris Anyanwu (APGA) was leading former Aviation and Transport Minister Kema Chikwe (PDP).

In the nine Federal House of Representatives races, the Chief Whip of the House, Hon. Emeka Ihedioha (PDP) defeated his rivals in one of the races.

The PDP has also officially won seven seats, while the races in Owerri Federal Constituency and Ideato North and South are in a dead heat

The Orlu Senatorial zone result as announced by the INEC Returning Officer indicated that a total of 214,003 votes were cast and out these, Izunaso of PDP scored 95,816 votes or 45 percent, APGA scored 54,432 votes of 25 percent while ACN scored 63,755 votes or 30 percent.

In Okigwe Senatorial zone, PDP scored 60,449 votes, APGA scored 2,782 votes, ACN scored 47,258 votes, ANPP scored 1,125 votes and APN scored 1,568 votes.