INEC Admits Submissions by 12 Political Parties

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has admitted the submission of Forms CF001 and CF002 by 12 political parties that were earlier rejected for breaching the 6p.m. deadline on Monday, January 31, 2011 . This gesture is in magnanimous reconsideration of the enforcement of compliance with deadline, to allow for maximum inclusiveness of the democratic space.       Eleven parties had all their nominations, which were previously rejected, admitted. These include the African Democratic Congress (ADC), Progressive Action Congress (PAC), Advanced Congress of Democrats (ACD), Action Alliance (AA), Justice Party (JP) and Nigeria Advance Party (NAP). Others are the Freedom Party of Nigeria (FPN), Democratic Peoples Party (DPP), Kowa Party (KP), Nigerian Peoples Congress (NPC) and National Majority Democratic Party (NMDP).   Also, the Movement for Democracy and Justice (MDJ) had its nominations for Gombe State , which were earlier rejected, admitted.   The Commission hopes political parties would henceforth adhere with stipulated deadlines in the Schedule of Electoral Activities.     Emmanuel Umenger.   Director, Public Affairs, INEC