Source: nigeriafilms.com
Click for Full Image Size
Listen to article

It was with glamour, and razzmatazz that the long-awaited Nigerian Music Awards (NMA), held in Abuja, the Federal capital Territory (FCT) weekend.

The well-attended event, which held at the sprawling International Conference Centre, saw several musicians carting home awards in different categories.

Among them was rave hip-hop act Tuface Idibia, who went home with the biggest and most keenly contested award, Song of the Decade. His hit song “African Queen” did the magic for him.

Oruka crooner, Sunny Neji, who is also hot in the music scene beat others to cart home the diadem for the Artiste of the Decade.

Also, at the awards, which had Senator Florence Ita-Giwa leading the high power Federal delegation, the duo of Yinka Davies and fast rising Obiinon walked away with the Female and Male Voices of the Year respectively.

While the award of the Best New Artiste of the Decade (Male), went to the sensational hip-hop crooning twin brothers P. Square, 'Ijoya' campaigner, Weird Mc, also smiled home with the same trophy in the keenly contested female category.

The hall erupted in cheers, when wave-making gospel group of the Olorioko fame, Infinity, was announced winners in the Best Music Video of the Decade category.
It was also an emotional moment in the hall when blind producer, Asuquo Cobhams was declared the Best Producer of the Decade.

And for making Nigerians proud in the disapora, the JJC group and Diya Ojo were separately rewarded with the awards of the Best Song in the Diaspora and the Best Artiste in the Diaspora trophies.
For her immense contributions and support to the industry, the elegant Stallion, Onyeka Onwenu was given a Special Recognition Award.

In line with the promise made by Chief Tony Okoroji, the prime mover of the awards, Rev. Kris Okotie, Sir Victor Uwaifor, King Sunny Ade and Evangelist Ebenezer Obey were recognized and presented with Lifetime pAchievement Awards, to the admiration of the crowd.
The late Fela Anikulapo-Kuti, was also given a post-humous award at the event, which had plenty of Nollywood stars in attendance.

Moreover, reigning musicians such as Muma G, ZuleZoo, The Jewels, Sammie Okposo, Segun Arinze, Stella Damasus and comedian A.Y, further enlivened the awards night within their electrifying performances that kept many asking for more.