Jonathan Drops Two From INEC List

Listen to article

San Francisco, June 22, (THEWILL) – President Goodluck Jonathan today dropped Ambassador Muhammed Anka and Major General A.B. Mamman as nominees into the Board of the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, fulfilling his promise to withdraw names of persons whose nomination does not satisfy majority of the voting public.

In a letter dated June 17, 2010 addressed to Senate President David Mark, President Goodluck Jonathan said, "Further to my letter of June 6, 2010 forwarding the nominees for the consideration of appointment as Chairman and National Electoral Commissioners of INEC, I write to seek the indulgence of the Senate to withdraw the following nominees from the list earlier sent: 1. Maj.- Gen. A.B. Mamman (retd.); and 2. Ambassador Mohammed Z. Anka."

The President said he would in due course forward replacements for the duo.

The Senate will tomorrow (Wednesday) screen INEC Chairman nominee, Professor Attahiru Jega alongside other nominees. They are; Mrs. Amina Bala Zakari (Jigawa); Dr. Nuru Yakubu (Yobe); Col. M. K. Hammanga (Adamawa); Dr. Abdulkadir Oniyangi (Kwara); Dame Gladys Nwafor (Abia); Mr. Ismael Igbani (Rivers); Mrs. Thelma Iremiren (Delta) and Prof Lai Olurode (Osun).

In the June 6, 2010 letter to the Senate, Jonathan said, "In accordance with the provisions of Section 154(1) and (3) of the Constitution and after due consultation with the Council of State at its meeting of Tuesday, 8th June 2010, I hereby present the nominees for confirmation by the Senate.

"While hoping that the confirmation will receive the usual expeditious consideration and passage by the Distinguished Senators, please accept, Mr. Senate President, the assurances of my highest regards."

Meanwhile, the Senate has opted to screen the nominees in a plenary session rather than allow the Senate INEC Committee do the screening.

Deputy Leader of the Senate, Senator Victor Ndoma Egba said the screening was too important to be left in the hands of the Committee alone.

When confirmed, Professor Jega and the new commissioners will be saddled with the responsibility of conduction acceptable general elections in 2011.