By NBF News
Listen to article

A group known as 'Dr Goodluck for Good Governance Group (DG4) has said their reason for urging Nigerians to support the administration of President Goodluck Jonathan even in 2011 general elections is to ensure that good governance is enthroned in the country.

The Chairman of the Board of Trustees (BOT) of DG4, Mr. Boniface Madubunyin in a statement said the association was out for good governance that would want to ensure 'viable and visible democratic dividends to the citizenry.'

Madubunyin noted that good governance was the responsibility of all and enjoined Nigerians to ensure that the present administration was sustained.

National Co-ordinator of the association, Apostle Abraham Ezaza also said he was motivated to mobilize support for the President, especially for 2011 contest because of President Goodluck's humble disposition and listening tendencies.

'My reason for asking Nigerians to rally round Jonathan is due to his amiable disposition, his kind leadership and the fact that he is not greedy about power and the fact that he is not interested in what comes his way. These made me believe that the President has the qualities that can provide good governance in Nigeria.'

He commended the President for his humility, noting that it is 'uncommon to see a young man in the present generation as humble as President Jonathan, politically and other wise.'

Asked if the organization was not a platform for Jonathan's presidential ambition in 2011, Ezaza who is also the initiator of the movement said: 'It is not a vanguard for 2011, our slogan is good governance, our vision and mission remains good governance while our mandate remains same.'

He said that the organization would not cease to exist, even if Jonathan was no longer there in 2011 but would continue to remain and continue the crusade for good governance.

He added that in their second meeting held in Abuja recently, 36 national officers were appointed for the administration of the organization.

He listed some of them including Chief Edison Nwosu, Mrs Agnes Shobanjo and Alhaji Shehu Saidu as National Organizing Secretary, National Secretary and ex-officio members respectively.