VP Records June Releases

Source: vprecords.com
Listen to article

On June 1st VP Records releases the reissue of Just A Man by the Legendary Beres Hammond. With over 30 years in the business and an impressive history of hit songs, Beres Hammond has earned his place among the firmament of reggae singers. Just A Man; his second album, reveals an early version of Beres; R&B/ Disco crooner and quite a convincing one. This 1979 album, produced and recorded with Joe Gibbs contains the highly sought after UK Soul hit “Do This World A Favour” plus 9 other full length vintage tracks that treat listeners to a different side of Beres' roots. This newly re-mastered disc also includes the song 'Set Me Free' recorded with Joe Gibbs but, never released on album before! Just A Man is a real rarity.

1. Music Is A Positive Vibration
2. John Crazy
3. Do This World A Favour
4. Keep My Wheel Turning
5. Just A Man
6. I'm Lonely
7. I'm In Love With You
8. Let Me Love You Tonight
9. Seasons
10. Set Me Free (Bonus Track)

The self titled debut album from Romain Virgo releases June 8th on VP Records. Romain Virgo came to national attention in Jamaica by winning the 'Digicel Rising Star' competition in 2007. The young vocalist made fans with his convincing vocal performances and youthful star quality. Performing familiar hits throughout the televised, multi-week competition, his charm emerged like a diamond in the rough. For the last two years, the singer has pursued his musical education as a full time student at Edna Manley College in Kingston, JA, while recording multiple hit singles. Under the tutelage of legendary producer Donovan Germain (Penthouse) and others, the 15 tracks presented here showcase an exciting new talent and the story is really just beginning. Stay tuned for the sounds of Romain Virgo!

1. Mi Can't Sleep
2. Who Feels It Knows It featuring Etana
3. Love Doctor
4. Taking You Home
5. As De Money Done
6. Should I Call Her
7. Wanna Go Home (Rain Is Falling)
8. Walking Out On You
9. Dark Skinned Girl
10. Live Mi Life
11. Customer Care
12. No Money
13. Touch Me
14. Be Careful
15. I'm Doing Good featuring Cameal Davis

VP Records is set to release the newest installment of their Reggae Gold series on June 22nd. The compilation is Reggae's most highly-anticipated release of the year. It Features 18 exceptional tracks from the biggest names in Reggae. The popular compilation includes an exclusive Bonus mix disc by DJ ZJ Chrome of Jamaica. Reggae Gold features breaking and established international hits. The album is the world's most recognized reggae music compilation; with a 16 year legacy and a loyal fan base. Reggae Gold is the kick off to summer fun!

Hold You by Gyptian
Holiday by Ding Dong featuring Chevaughn Clayton
Clarks by Vybz Kartel featuring Popcaan & Gaza Slim

As We Enter by Damian “Jr. Gong” Marley and Nas
Skip To Ma Lu by Serani featuring Ding Dong
Slow Motion by Vybz Kartel
Never Let Me Go by Shaggy & Tessanne Chin
Sweet Love (Night Shift) by Busy Signal
Love's Contagious by Tarrus Riley
Happy Heart by Etana
Hold My Hand by Sean Paul
The Realest Song by Konshens
Cry Fi Dem by Wasp
Say Hey (I Love You) by Michael Franti & Spearhead featuring Cherine Anderson

Hold The Line by Major Lazer featuring Mr. Lex & Santigold

House Cleaning by Mavado
Live Mi Life by Romain Virgo
No Apology by Beres Hammond

Attention collectors and vinyl devotees: by popular demand, on June 29th VP Records presents Joe Gibbs 7” Spectacular 2. The follow up to the 2009 special issue of classic and hard to find Joe Gibbs and Errol Thompson productions; in their original, glorious, 7” vinyl format. Volume two contains the most requested songs from fans on internet forums and blog posts responding to the original box set. These crucial titles are presented on 7” vinyl for the first time in years and never before with the care and attention to quality that this package delivers. 7” Spectacular 2 means; deluxe packaging collectable pieces and hours of enjoyment to the listener.

1 A. When You Are Down – Dennis Brown
B. Africa Red – Joe Gibbs & The Professionals

2 A. Jah Golden Pen (Original 1975 Mix) - Sylford Walker

B. Golden Tub – The Mighty Two
3 A. Rockers Nu Crackers (Rockers No Crackers) - Glen Washington

B. Rockers Dub – Joe Gibbs 7 The Professionals

4. A. Informer – Culture
B. Informer Version – The Mighty Two

5. A. Heart & Soul – Junior Byles
B. Give It To Jah – The Mighty Two
6. A. Almighty I – Dennis Walks
B. Forgive Them Rasta – The Mighty Two

7. A. Malcolm X – Earl Sixteen
B. Malcolm X Version – The Mighty Two

*Release dates and track listings are subject to change*

VP Records/Greensleeves Artists Available For Interviews:

Busy Signal
Romain Virgo
Isheka Lawes (Junjo Lawes Daughter)

Upcoming Releases:
Capleton – I-Ternal Fire 7/6
Busy Signal – D.O.B. 7/13
Gyptian – Hold You 7/20
Duane Stephenson– Black Gold 8/3
Etana – Free Expression 8/10
Gappy Ranks – Heaven In Her Eyes 8/24

Nathaniel E. Watkins
VP Records, Publicity Dept.
718-425-1151 Office
347-455-1701 Cell
89-05 138th St.
Jamaica, NY 11435
Aim: vprpublicity