Click for Full Image Size

Former Senate president, Chief Ken Nnamani
Following their refusal to appear before the National Working Committee of the Peoples Democratic Party, which met in Abuja on Thursday, the party has announced the suspension of 19 of its members.

Those suspended are former Senate President, Ken Nnamani; former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Alhaji Aminu Masari; former governor of Rivers State, Dr. Peter Odili; and Owelle Rochas Okorocha.

Also suspended are Chief Onyema Ugochukwu, Chief Tony Ukasanya, Senator Adolf Wabara, Chief Sunny Iroche, Senator Emmanuel Agboti, Senator Sylvanous Ngele, Senator Ifeanyichukwu Ararume, Chief Achike Udenwa, Chief Ekpeyoung, Chief Abiye Sekibo and Alhaji Awal Tukur.

Others are former Chief Whip of the House of Representatives, Bawa Bwari; Prof. ABC Nwosu, Chief Bernard Eze and Chris Ekpeyong.

In a statement by its National Secretary, Alhaji Kawu Baraje, the party said it was surprised at the refusal of the suspended persons to appear before the NWC 'despite extensive invitations extended to them.'

The statement read, 'The NWC is of the view that the concerned members had adequate notice but declined to utilise the opportunity granted them by the invitation to explain their roles.'