The 88th Academy Awards Will Be Screened On M-Net Channels

By Mimi Ucheagwu
Click for Full Image Size
Listen to article

The 88 Oscar Academy Awards will be screened live from Hollywood on M-Net Movies Premiere, channel 103 on DStv, on Monday, 29 February 2016 at 2:30, while viewers who don’t want to get up in the wee hours of the morning to watch this big event, can still enjoy it on M-Net Channel 101 on Monday at 19:30 (prime-time). The latter is a delayed broadcast.

The nominees for the 88th Academy Awards were announced on January 14, 2016, at the Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills, California, by directors Guillermo del Toro and Ang Lee, Academy president Cheryl Boone Isaacs, and actor John Krasinski. The Revenant received the most nominations with twelve in total, with Mad Max: Fury Road coming in second with ten. For the second consecutive year, a film directed by Alejandro G. Iñárritu received the most nominations.

The host of this year’s show is comedian and actor Chris Rock.

List of nominees:
Best Picture
The Big Short – Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner, and Jeremy Kleiner

Bridge of Spies – Steven Spielberg, Marc Platt, and Kristie Macosko Krieger

Brooklyn – Finola Dwyer and Amanda Posey

Mad Max: Fury Road – Doug Mitchell and George Miller

The Martian – Simon Kinberg, Ridley Scott, Michael Schaefer, and Mark Huffam

The Revenant – Arnon Milchan, Steve Golin, Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Mary Parent, and Keith Redmon

Room – Ed Guiney
Spotlight – Michael Sugar, Steve Golin, Nicole Rocklin, and Blye Pagon Faust

Best Director
Adam McKay – The Big Short
George Miller – Mad Max: Fury Road
Alejandro G. Iñárritu – The Revenant

Lenny Abrahamson – Room
Tom McCarthy – Spotlight
Best Actor
Bryan Cranston – Trumbo as Dalton Trumbo

Matt Damon – The Martian as Mark Watney

Leonardo DiCaprio – The Revenant as Hugh Glass

Michael Fassbender – Steve Jobs as Steve Jobs

Eddie Redmayne – The Danish Girl as Lili Elbe / Einar Wegener

Best Actress
Cate Blanchett – Carol as Carol Aird
Brie Larson – Room as Joy "Ma" Newsome

Jennifer Lawrence – Joy as Joy Mangano

Charlotte Rampling – 45 Years as Kate Mercer

Saoirse Ronan – Brooklyn as Eilis Lacey

Best Supporting Actor
Christian Bale – The Big Short as Michael Burry

Tom Hardy – The Revenant as John Fitzgerald

Mark Ruffalo – Spotlight as Michael Rezendes

Mark Rylance – Bridge of Spies as Rudolf Abel

Sylvester Stallone – Creed as Rocky Balboa

Best Supporting Actress
Jennifer Jason Leigh – The Hateful Eight as Daisy Domergue

Rooney Mara – Carol as Therese Belivet

Rachel McAdams – Spotlight as Sacha Pfeiffer

Alicia Vikander – The Danish Girl as Gerda Wegener

Kate Winslet – Steve Jobs as Joanna Hoffman

Best Original Screenplay
Bridge of Spies – Matt Charman, Ethan Coen, and Joel Coen

Ex Machina – Alex Garland
Inside Out – Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve, Josh Cooley, and Ronnie del Carmen

Spotlight – Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer

Straight Outta Compton – Jonathan Herman, Andrea Berloff, S. Leigh Savidge, and Alan Wenkus

Best Adapted Screenplay
The Big Short – Adam McKay and Charles Randolph from The Big Short by Michael Lewis

Brooklyn – Nick Hornby from Brooklyn by Colm Tóibín

Carol – Phyllis Nagy from The Price of Salt by Patricia Highsmith

The Martian – Drew Goddard from The Martian by Andy Weir

Room – Emma Donoghue from Room by Emma Donoghue

Best Animated Feature Film
Anomalisa – Charlie Kaufman, Duke Johnson, and Rosa Tran

Boy & the World – Alê Abreu
Inside Out – Pete Docter and Jonas Rivera

Shaun the Sheep Movie – Mark Burton and Richard Starzak

When Marnie Was There – Hiromasa Yonebayashi and Yoshiaki Nishimura

Best Foreign Language Film
Embrace of the Serpent (Colombia) in Spanish – Ciro Guerra

Mustang (France) in Turkish – Deniz Gamze Ergüven

Son of Saul (Hungary) in Hungarian – László Nemes

Theeb (Jordan) in Arabic – Naji Abu Nowar

A War (Denmark) in Danish – Tobias Lindholm

Best Documentary – Feature
Amy – Asif Kapadia and James Gay-Rees
Cartel Land – Matthew Heineman and Tom Yellin

The Look of Silence – Joshua Oppenheimer and Signe Byrge Sørensen

What Happened, Miss Simone? – Liz Garbus, Amy Hobby, and Justin Wilkes

Winter on Fire: Ukraine's Fight for Freedom – Evgeny Afineevsky and Den Tolmor

Best Documentary – Short Subject

Body Team 12 – David Darg and Bryn Mooser

Chau, Beyond the Lines – Courtney Marsh and Jerry Franck

Claude Lanzmann: Spectres of the Shoah – Adam Benzine

A Girl in the River: The Price of Forgiveness – Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy

Last Day of Freedom – Dee Hibbert-Jones and Nomi Talisman

Best Live Action Short Film
Ave Maria – Eric Dupont and Basil Khalil

Day One – Henry Hughes
Everything Will Be Okay – Patrick Vollrath

Shok – Jamie Donoughue
Stutterer – Benjamin Cleary and Serena Armitage

Best Animated Short Film
Bear Story – Pato Escala Pierart and Gabriel Osorio Vargas

Prologue – Imogen Sutton and Richard Williams

Sanjay's Super Team – Nicole Paradis Grindle and Sanjay Patel

We Can't Live Without Cosmos – Konstantin Bronzit

World of Tomorrow – Don Hertzfeldt

Best Original Score
Bridge of Spies – Thomas Newman
Carol – Carter Burwell
The Hateful Eight – Ennio Morricone
Sicario – Jóhann Jóhannsson

Star Wars: The Force Awakens – John Williams

Best Original Song
"Earned It" from Fifty Shades of Grey – Music and Lyric by Ahamad Balshe (Belly), Stephan Moccio, Jason "Daheala" Quenneville, Abel Tesfaye (The Weeknd)

"Manta Ray" from Racing Extinction – Music by J. Ralph, Lyric by Antony Hegarty

"Simple Song #3" from Youth – Music and Lyric by David Lang

"Til It Happens to You" from The Hunting Ground – Music and Lyric by Lady Gaga and Diane Warren

"Writing's on the Wall" from Spectre – Music and Lyric by Jimmy Napes and Sam Smith

Best Sound Editing
Mad Max: Fury Road – Mark A. Mangini and David White

The Martian – Oliver Tarney
The Revenant – Martin Hernández and Lon Bender

Sicario – Alan Robert Murray
Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Matthew Wood and David Acord

Best Sound Mixing
Bridge of Spies – Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom, and Drew Kunin

Mad Max: Fury Road – Chris Jenkins, Gregg Rudloff, and Ben Osmo

The Martian – Paul Massey, Mark Taylor, and Mac Ruth

The Revenant – Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño, Randy Thom, and Chris Duesterdiek

Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio, and Stuart Wilson

Best Production Design
Bridge of Spies – Rena DeAngelo, Bernhard Henrich, and Adam Stockhausen

The Danish Girl – Michael Standish and Eve Stewart

Mad Max: Fury Road – Colin Gibson and Lisa Thompson

The Martian – Celia Bobak and Arthur Max

The Revenant – Jack Fisk and Hamish Purdy

Best Cinematography
Carol – Ed Lachman
The Hateful Eight – Robert Richardson
Mad Max: Fury Road – John Seale
The Revenant – Emmanuel Lubezki
Sicario – Roger Deakins
Best Makeup and Hairstyling
The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared – Love Larson and Eva von Bahr

Mad Max: Fury Road – Lesley Vanderwalt, Elka Wardega, and Damian Martin

The Revenant – Siân Grigg, Duncan Jarman, and Robert Pandini

Best Costume Design
Carol – Sandy Powell
Cinderella – Sandy Powell
The Danish Girl – Paco Delgado
Mad Max: Fury Road – Jenny Beavan
The Revenant – Jacqueline West
Best Film Editing
The Big Short – Hank Corwin
Mad Max: Fury Road – Margaret Sixel
The Revenant – Stephen Mirrione
Spotlight – Tom McArdle
Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Maryann Brandon and Mary Jo Markey

Best Visual Effects
Ex Machina – Mark Williams Ardington, Sara Bennett, Paul Norris, and Andrew Whitehurst

Mad Max: Fury Road – Andrew Jackson, Dan Oliver, Andy Williams, and Tom Wood

The Martian – Anders Langlands, Chris Lawrence, Richard Stammers, and Steven Warner

The Revenant – Richard McBride, Matt Shumway, Jason Smith, and Cameron Waldbauer

Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Chris Corbould, Roger Guyett, Paul Kavanagh, and Neal Scanlan