Yaya Toure Set To Equal Eto's Record

Source: thewillnigeria.com

Yaya Toure is set to equal Samuel Eto'o record by winning the CAF African Player of the Year award for a record fourth time.

In a shortlist revealed by Confederation of African Football (CAF), he will battle it out with Vincent Enyeama and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang.

However, according to bookmakers he is primed to win the accolade especially with stiff competition from Yacine Brahimi absent.

The event that will take place in Lagos on 8 January is set to witness Algeria dominate the event after an impeccable calendar at club and national team level.

Below is the final list.
African Player of the Year
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon and Borussia Dortmund)

Vincent Enyeama (Nigeria and Lille)
Yaya Toure (Cote d'Ivoire and Manchester City)
African Player of the Year – Based in Africa
Akram Djahnit (Algeria and ES Setif)
El Hedi Belamieri (Algeria and ES Setif)
Firmin Mubele Ndombe (DR Congo and AS Vita)
Women's Player of the Year
Annette Ngo Ndom (Cameroon and Amazon Grimstad)
Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and River Angels)
Desire Oparanozie (Nigeria and Guingamp)
Youth Player of the Year
Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and River Angels)
Fabrice Ondoa (Cameroon and Barcelona)
Uchechi Sunday (Nigeria and River Angels)
Most Promising Talent
Clinton N'jie (Cameroon and Olympique Lyon)
Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon and Porto)
Yacine Brahimi (Algeria and Porto)
Coach of the Year
Florent Ibenge (DR Congo)
Kheireddine Madoui (ES Setif)
Vahid Halilhodžic (Former coach of Algeria)
National Team of the Year
Women's National Team of the Year
Nigeria U-20
Club of the Year
Al Ahly (Egypt)
AS Vita (DR Congo)
ES Setif (Algeria)
Football Leader of the Year
Moise Katumbi Chapwe – President of TP Mazembe (DR Congo)

African Legend award
Oryx Club (Cameroon) – winners of the maiden edition of CAF Champions League 1964

Stade Malien (Mali) – runner up of the maiden edition of CAF Champion's League 1964