26 Kano Lawmakers Follow Kwankwaso To APC

Source: pointblanknews.com

Kano state House of
Assembly witnessed mass defection on Monday as 26 members elected under the umbrella of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), declared loyalty for the All Progressive Congress (APC), citing Governor Rabi'u Musa Kwankwaso's 'influential' leadership style as part of their reasons.

Following the development, APC, now enjoys the majority in Kano state House of Assembly, northwest Nigeria as 26 members of the House elected on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, pledged their membership to the APC.

As it stands, PDP only has four five members out of 40 members of the House, including Speaker Gambo Sallau who was absent during Monday's sitting.

Speaking on behalf of the defected 26 PDP members, Honorable Rabiu Saleh Gwarzo, representing Gwarzo constituency stated that the reason for their defection from PDP to APC was in respect of their clear conviction that, 'the APC is a party that has a clear-cut agenda of liberating Nigerians.' According to him, all the 26 members who defected to APC had wide consultation with their respective constituencies before arrive at the decision to defect to APC.

He also noted that another reason for their defection was, 'because we are satisfied with the outstanding performance of the state governor, Dr.

Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso in transforming the state in every aspect of development.' Some of the defected lawmakers include the Deputy Speaker of the House, Alhaji Isyaku Ali Danja, former speaker, Yusuf Abdullahi Falgore, member representing Rogo constituency.

Others include, house majority leader, Engr.Hamisu Ibrahim, representing Makoda constituency, deputy majority leader, Alhaji Yusuf Babangida Suleman, representing Gwale constituency as well as the chief whip of the house, Alhaji Abdullahi Iliyasu Yunusa,among others.