TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

Ajimobi swears in new commissioners, charges them to be productive

By The Citizen
Listen to article

Gov. Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo State on Monday swore in 12 newly-appointed commissioners, urging them to exhibit high level of integrity, commitment and service to humanity.

Oyo State House of Assembly had last Thursday ratified the list of the 12 Commissioners sent to them by the state governor.

The commissioners comprised five members of the former cabinet and seven new ones.

One of the new commissioners, Oyefunke Oworu, was a former Special Adviser to the Governor on Trade, Investment and Cooperative, while Gbade Lana was the former Chairman of the State Library Board.

Those recalled include Adebayo Ojo, Dapo Lam-Adesina, Zacheaus Adelabu, Dr Muyiwa Gbadegesin and Adetutu Adeyemi-Aigbe, while the five new ones are Prof. Solomon Olaniyonu, Adewale Olujide, Adedeji Akande, Umar Alao and Abiodun Atanda.

Speaking at the ceremony held the Governor's Office, Ibadan, Ajimobi said that the appointment of the commissioners was based on their educational background, individual track records and good characters, political and religious background.

“Also, party recommendations and the belief of my administration in aggressiveness, assertiveness, adaptability and consolidation of its achievements were considered,” he said.

The governor said the new commissioners were appointed based on their individual merits and not necessarily because they are children of traditional rulers or elite as being claimed by the opposition.

Ajimobi thanked the former commissioners for their contributions to the development of the state, adding that his administration would continue to embrace politics of development.