TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center


By NBF News
Listen to article

Super Eagles boss, Stephen Okechukwu Keshi, has picked Nations Cup star Sunday Mba, Geofrey Oboabona and Dele Ajiboye and 21 others for the World Cup qualifiers clash against Kenya. Keshi yesterday unveiled a list of 24 home based professional players who will be joined later by their foreign based counterparts for the all-important World Cup qualifier against the Harambee Stars of Kenya, scheduled for March 23 in Calabar, Cross River State.

The full list of foreign based professionals will be unveiled tomorrow morning by the team's technical crew, as Keshi has mapped out plans to ensure that only fit and ready players will be invited for the clash against Harambee Stars of Kenya. On the 24-man list is Eagles home-based skipper, Chigozie Agbim, Sunday Mba, who was one of the heroes of Nigeria's 2013 Afcon win, Godfrey Oboabona, the Sunshine Stars skipper, who featured in all games of the tournament in South Africa, Gabriel Reuben, Papa Idris and goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi all make a return to the team.

But the surprise package in the team is Shooting Stars of Ibadan goaltender, Dele Ajiboye, who started with the U-17 and has been with the Flying Eagles, U23s and now the Super Eagles. A young and agile goalie, Ajiboye, is expected to bring his wealth of experience through the ranks to bear in the battle for gloves for the national team.

The team will as usual encamp at Bolton White Apartment, Zone 7 in Abuja from Sunday, March 10, from where they will be joined by foreign based players next week for the trip to Calabar, venue of the encounter. Below is the full list of invited players for the game against Kenya in Calabar.

Goalkeepers: 1. Agbim Chigozie (Rangers)., 2 Akpeyi Daniel (Heartland), 3. Ajiboye Dele (3SC)

Midfielders and Forwards: 13. Mba Sunday (Nigeria) 14. Gabriel Ruben (Kano Pillars) 15. Gambo Muhammed (Kano Pillars) 16. Ubale Mannir (Kano Pillars) 17. Pius Samson (Ranchers Bees) 18. Ohanduku Gomo (Sharks) 19. Obinna Nwanchukwu (Heartland) 20. Saka Ayo (Enyimba) 21. Jiya Muhammed (Bayelsa Fc) 22. Emeka Ezeh (Rangers) 23. Anthony Okputu (Lobi Stars) 24. Adepoju Taofeek (3SC)

Defenders 4. Egwueke Azubuike (Warri Wolves), 5. Papa Idris (Kano Pillars), 6 .Zango Umar (Kano Pillars) 7. Oboabona Godfrey (Sunshine Stars) 8. Kwambe Solomon (Sunshine Stars) 9. Chibuzo Okonkwo (Rangers) 10. Ezekiel bassey (Lobi Stars) 11. Benjamin Francis (Heartland) 12. Zubaru Muhammed (Tornadoes).