Jonathan Constitutes Special Committee On Oil Pollution In Ogoniland

Listen to article

President Goodluck EbeleJonathan Wednesday in Abuja constituted a Special Committee to undertake aholistic review of the United Nations Environmental Programme (UNEP) Report onOil Pollution in Ogoniland and make recommendations to

 the Federal Governmenton immediate and long term remedial actions.

The Committee, which isto be chaired by the Minister of Petroleum Resources, Mrs. DiezaniAllison-Madueke is to conclude its assignment and submit a report to thePresident within two weeks.

Other members of theCommittee are the Minister of Environment, Mrs. Hadiza Ibrahim Mailafiya(Vice-Chairman), the Minister of Finance and Coordinating Minister for theEconomy, Mrs. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, the Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, ElderGodsday Orubebe, the Attorney-General of the Federation and Minister ofJustice, Mr. Mohammed Adoke, the Managing Director of the Niger DeltaDevelopment Commission, Mr. Chibuzo Ugwoha, the Director-General of theNational Oil Spill Detection and Response Agency (NOSDRA), Mr. Peter Idaboh,the Group Managing Director of the NNPC, Mr. Austen Oniwon and the SpecialAdviser to the President (Technical Matters), Mr. Sullivan Akachukwu Nwakpo.

After receivingthe UNEP Report on Oil Pollution in Ogoniland on August 4, 2011, PresidentJonathan had directed the Ministers of Petroleum and Environment to undertakean immediate appraisal of the report. The decision to constitute an expandedSpecial Review Committee followed the submission by the two ministers to thePresident Wednesday of their preliminary appraisal of the report.