Jonathan Nominates Elechi As ICPC Chairman; Odinkalu As Chair, NHRC Council

Click for Full Image Size

ABUJA, May 31, (THEWILL) - President Goodluck Jonathan today forwarded the name of Mr. Francis Ugochukwu Elechi to the Senate for confirmation as the new Chairman of the Independent Corrupt Practices and other related offences Commission (ICPC).

Also in another letter to the Senate, the president forwarded the names of fourteen nominees for confirmation as members of the Governing Council of the National Human Rights Commission.

The nomination, which was made by Jonathan pursuant to section 2 of the National Human Rights Commission (Amendment) Act, 2010 named Dr. Chidi Anselm Odinkalu as Chairman of the Council. Members of the council include Mr. Sully Abu (media), Mrs. Euginia Abu (media), Kayode Komolafe (media), Mr. Dave Obidi Ezeigwe (NBA), Mrs. Ranti Bosede Daudu (NBA) and Mrs. Saadatu Mahadi (human rights NGOs). Others are Mr. Jones Osim (human rights Ngos), Mr. Olawale Fapohunda (human rights NGOs), Mrs. Maryam Uwais (women), Mrs. Cynthia Ene Ogbe (women) and Professor Bem Angwe.

The list also included a yet-to-be named representative of the Nigerian Labour Congress (NLC) and three nominees of the Justice, Foreign Affairs and Interior ministries as ex-officio members

It could be recalled that the ICPC has been without a substantive chairman since last year when Justice Emmanuel Ayoola (rtd) served out his tenure. The nomination of Elechi is coming on the heels of the rejection of Justice Pius Olayiwola Aderemi (rtd) by the upper legislative chambers as replacement for Ayoola.

Aderemi was rejected on the grounds of alleged incompetence and old age. The nomination of Elechi was contained in a letter to the Senate President David Mark by Jonathan and read on the floor of the Senate.