TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center


By NBF News
Listen to article

Two serving Senators of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Ondo State, Dr. Bode Olajumoke and Mr. Gbenga Ogunniya have lost out in the elections held in Ondo State.

Olajumoke who was seeking to represent Ondo North Senatorial District for the second term and Ogunniya who was seeking a fourth term lost to the Labour Party candidates.

According to the results released by the Independent National Electoral Commission, LP candidates won seven out of the eight results released for the federal constituencies in the state.

Professor Robert Ajayi Borrofice of the LP, polled 84,290 votes in the Ondo North Senatorial District, while Olajumoke scored 51,112.

Ogunniya lost the central senatorial seat to Dr Ayo Akinyelure with 41,783 to 113,292 votes respectively.

Former Governor Olusegun Agagu of the PDP lost to LP's Boluwaji Kunlere in the Ondo South Senatorial District.

The results collated at the polling centres, wards and local government levels showed that LP candidates won convincingly in four out of the six local governments that constituted the senatorial district.

In the House of Representatives election released officially, LP candidates won in Akure South/Akure North, Ifedore/Idanre, Ile-Oluji/Okeigbo/Odigbo and Ondo East/Ondo West Federal Constituencies.

Similarly, LP candidates won in Akoko South east/Akoko South-west, Akoko North east/Akoko North west and Owo/Ose Federal Constituencies.

The PDP House of Representative candidate, Albert Akintoye defeated Dele Olatunji of the LP in Okitipupa/Irele Federal Constituency having polled 31,152 votes against 26,262 scored by his opponent.

The result for Ondo South was being collated at the state headquarters of INEC due to the reported tension in the area. The preliminary results of the senatorial district were escorted to Akure by Armoured Personnel Carrier (APC) with the officials due to the reported tension in the area.

Also, elections in two wards of Ese-Odo Local Government were cancelled due to irregularities.

Meanwhile, the PDP has kicked against the movement of the preliminary results to Akure for final collation.

The State Chairman of the party, Dr. Tayo Dairo, said the party would contest all the results of the election that were collated in any place apart from where stipulated in the Electoral Law.

'We are also going to protest the cancellation of the results of the Ese-Odo Local Government. Although the PDP won because it was only eight out of the results of the 10 wards that were released. It is not the winning that we are talking about, but why were the results cancelled,' Dairo queried.