Jonathan Wants Police Academy To Award Degrees

Source: EMMA UCHE -
Listen to article

ABUJA, JULY 06, (THEWILL) - President Goodluck Jonathan wants the Nigerian Police Academy to start awarding degrees and as a result submitted a bill to the National Assembly today for consideration.

Jonathan also submitted the names of Alhaji Abubakar Mustapha (Kaduna), Alhaji Yusuf Sankara (Jigawa) and Alhaji Abdul-Lateef Aderemi Gbadamosi (Oyo) for confirmation by the Upper Chamber as members of the National Population Commission (NPC).

The Senate also again put on hold the confirmation of the nominations of Dr. A. S. Oniyangi and Amina B. Zakari as National Electoral Commissioners in the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC). Though reasons were not adduced for the suspension, but the duo were not confirmed alongside their colleagues two weeks ago for lack of biodata.

In a letter dated June 25, for the Police Institute Bill, Jonathan requested the Senate to act expeditiously in the consideration of the bill.

In his communication requesting for confirmation of the three nominees as members of the NPC, he said the commission is one of the Federal Executive bodies established by law adding that "By the provision of Part 1 section (J) of the Third Schedule of the Constitution, the Commission shall comprise the Chairman and one person from each State of the Federation and the Federal Capital Territory.

"In this connection, there is need to appoint a new Commissioner from Kaduna State following the vacancy created by the death of Prof. Basher Ahmed Ikara.

Furthermore, two former members of the Commission had performed creditably well in their first renewable tenure which expired on April 27, 2010 and their re-appointment for a second and final term would pave the way for continuity and sustain their involvement in the implementation of the on-going programmes in the commission.

"In accordance with the provisions of Section 154(1) and (3) of the Constitution and after due consultation with the Council of State at its meeting of Tuesday, June 8, 2010, I hereby present the nominees for confirmation by the Senate, the president’s letter said.