Appointment of former President Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete as AU High Representative for Libya

By African Union Commission (AUC)

The Chairperson of the Commission of the African Union (AU), Dr. Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, has, today, appointed former President Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete, of Tanzania, as the AU High Representative for Libya. She expresses her deep appreciation to him for accepting to undertake this important assignment.

Mr. Kikwete will succeed former Prime Minister Dileita Mohamed Dileita of Djibouti, to whom the Chairperson extends her profound gratitude for discharging his mandate with honor and dedication.

The Appointment of former President Kikwete aims at boosting the AU high-level efforts in the search of a successful political transition and restoration of peace and stability in Libya.

The Chairperson of the Commission is convinced that the outstanding experience of Mr. Kikwete and his long standing commitment to African causes will be a major asset in the implementation of the Libya Political Agreement and would further strengthen the ongoing all inclusive political dialogue among Libyans.

In the discharge of his responsibilities, the High Representative will maintain close contact with Libyan stakeholders; interact with the leaders of the neighboring countries to facilitate a collective and coordinated African action on Libya. In particular, he will be closely working with the United Nations in coordinating the AU/UN efforts in the harmonization and the strengthening of international engagement in Libya.

The Chairperson is confident that all Libyan stakeholders will extend their support to the AU High Representative in discharging his mandate.

Mr. Kikwete was born in 1950, and served as President of the United Republic of Tanzania, from 2005 to 2015. Prior to his election to the Presidency, he was theMinister of Foreign Affairsof this country, from 1995 to 2005. He also served a Member of Parliament, from 1995-2005. He has also served as theChairpersonof theAfrican Unionin 2008—2009, and the Chairman of theSouthern African Development Community(SADC) Troika on Peace, Defence and Security, in 2012—2013.