EKITI 2014: PDP clears Omoyeni,Fayose,Gbenga Aluko,10 others

Disqualifies Olowoporoku, two others
By Amuda Emmanuel

The Peoples Democratic Party Screening Committee on the 2014 Ekiti governorship Election has disqualified three aspirants from taking part in the play's governorship primaries. Those disqualified by the committee, which is headed by Senator Victor Ndoma-Egba, are Senator Bode Olowoporoku, Bosede Dada and Peter Obafemi.

Senator Bode Olowoporoku was disqualified on the basis that he did not produce tax clearance and that there was no evidence of court judgment overturning on his previous expulsion from the party.

Mrs Bosede Dada Bamisaye was also accused of not having evidence of payment of membership dues , no West African School Certificate and no production of tax clearance certificate.

In the case of Dr Obafemi Peter, he was said to be unable to produce his National Youth Service discharge certificate. With the disqualification of the three aspirants, the coast is now clear for the remaining 13 aspirants to take part in consensus or primary.

13 aspirants were cleared:
Prince Dayo Adeyeye
Navy capt Caleb Olubolade
Dr Ayo Fayose
Amb Dare Bejide
Senator Gbenga Aluko
Chief Bisi Omoyeni
Surveyor Abiodun Aluko
Hon Ropo Ogunbodude
Mr Adeyanju Bodunde
Hon Wale Aribisala
Mr Deji Ajayi
Dr(Mrs) Alhaja Abibat Adubiaro
Mrs Modupe Ogundipe