Yero re-shuffles cabinet

By The Citizen

Kaduna State Governor Mukhtar Yero on Monday reshuffled his cabinet with a call on  the commissioners to be ready to serve the people of the state.

A statement by the Director-General, Media and  Publicity   in the Governor's Office,  Ahmed Maiyaki, said, 'The change was with immediate effect and the commissioners would carry on with their duties based on the principles of justice, equity and accountability.'

Besides the newly appointed Commissioner for Environment, David Chatjok, all the other commissioners, who served in the late Governor Patrick Yakowa administration, were retained  in the new cabinet.

Meanwhile, eight commissioners retained their portfolios. They include Alhaji Mohammed Usman, (Education); Saidu Adamu. (Information); Jonathan Adamu, (Justice); Suleiman Richifa, (Works and Transport); Halima Labo, (Special Duties); Felix Gimba, (Special Duties); Ali Kalat, (Special Duties); and Maria Dogo, (Women Affairs).

According to the statement, Dr. Ibrahim Giwa has been moved to the Ministry of Science and Technology from the Ministry of Education, while Gambo Lawal moved from Commerce to Culture and Tourism.

The former commissioner for Culture and Tourism, Suleiman Ibrahim, is now the Commissioner for Local Government.

Mr. Timothy Gandu, who was at the Ministry Economic Planning, is now the Commissioner for Commerce and Industry, Zakaria Shamaki moved from Environment to Inter-Governmental and  John Ayuba moved from Finance to Water Resources.

Also, Turaki Kalik moved from Health to Poverty Alleviation, Magaji Hunkuyi from Local Government to Economic Planning, Sani Aminu from Lands to Youths and Sports, Isa Idris from Rural and Community Development to Lands and Survey, Bashir Sakadadi from Science and Technology to Agriculture, while Sunday Katung was moved from Water Resources to Finance.